T. Rowe’s Wash-N-Go Method!

Standard
T. Rowe’s Wash-N-Go Method!

As a natural of three years, it seems to me that there are two categories of people when it comes to the famous wash-n-go. Those who love them, and those who hate them. The wash-n-go hairstyle can be very tricky to achieve, and often times, is more work than its name implies. I used to HATE wash-n-gos and I was an avid supporter of YouTube Naturalista GlamFun ‘s “Wash-N-Gos don’t work on Nappy Hair” video! (It’s a parody music video of Drake’s “Started from The Bottom and its hilarious! If you haven’t seen it, click this link to watch!

After a couple years of playing with different products, and learning my hair, I can now say I am a fan of the style! I’ll let you guys in on a few of my favorite products and styling hacks that I use to achieve my best wash-n-go!

1) Before I start my wash-n-go, I make sure my hair is thoroughly conditioned and detangled. I usually detangle in the shower with a wide tooth comb, while my conditioner is still in my hair. Detangled hair is VERY imporant!

2) After rinsing, I apply my leave in conditioner. I am currently using Aphogee Pro Vitamin Leave-In Conditioner. This helps to smooth the hair for better manageability. It also contains a balanced pH which seals the hair cuticle and enhances the color of my hair.

3) After applying my leave-in, I spray a mix of aloe vera juice and water over my hair. I get my aloe vera juice by the gallon from Walgreens. Aloe vera contains enzymes that promote hair growth. There are also enzymes found in aloe vera that eliminate dead scalp cells. Your hair will thank you for this one!

4) Before I add my Eco-Styler gel, I base my hair with aloe vera gel! I buy the Jason Soothing Aloe Vera Gel from Whole Foods. Slathering this gel on my hair first, helps with retaining moisture so my hair will not dry out and frizz too quickly. I am pretty liberal when it comes to applying aloe vera gel! (Sidenote: When money is tight, and I can’t afford fancy aloe vera gel from Whole Foods, I have purchased regular Banana Boat aloe vera gel from Wal-Mart, and it did the trick as well! I just like to stay away from products with too many extra additives, and stick to oganic & natural!)

5) Lastyly, I apply my Eco Styler gel for the finishing touch! My favorite Eco Styler gel is the Moroccan Argan Oil Gel, and I use it by the BOATLOAD!

Once I’ve applied all of my products, and tousled my hair, I am ready to go! My curl definition is always on point, and my frizz stays to a minimum for the whole day! Once you get into the swing of things, wash-n-gos will become easier and faster!

Check out this pic-collage of previous wash-n-gos I have rocked using my method!

IMG_3266

I also tried my method on my niece’s hair! It was adorable!

jeilynn

Give it a try and let me know what you think! Happy Washing!!

T.Rowe xoxo

4 responses »

Leave a comment