Two Years In The Game! Happy Nappiversary To Me!!

Standard

Image

“The only regret I have with going natural, is that I didn’t do it sooner…”

Checking the calendar to do some planning ahead, I scrolled to November, and realized I am approaching my two year natural hair journey! I cannot believe it’s been a whole two years since I cut my hair off. I still remember that day like it was yesterday. I almost didn’t go to my appointment, and when I did, I thought SEVERAL times about backing out. I wasn’t ready to look like “a little boy” or a “bald headed chick.” These were both negative views I had carried about other girls that did a big chop and now it was going to be my turn to face the same scrutiny. Everyone would tell me that a girl who cuts all of her hair off would have to posses some pretty high self esteem and the confidence to “rock” a TWA (teeny weenie afro). I had neither. My hair had always been a sensitive spot for me, so I was definitely lacking confidence in the tresses that were already growing from my abused scalp. My scalp and I had been through many rough times. From scalp infections, to scalp burns from relaxers that were left on too long, to color that had irritated my scalp and caused scabs, bumps, and most devastating, hair loss. For me, going natural was about more than my hair. Going natural was my farewell to unhealthy practices, for my scalp, hair, and body.  I closed my eyes, she picked up the scissors, and when I looked up…I had a TWA. When I looked in the mirror I wanted to cry, but I forced a smile, then something amazing happened. The more I forced that smile, the more I looked at my little afro, the more I thought about the irreversible decision I’d just made, the more my smile began to widen…it was no longer counterfeit, it was genuine.

Image

I was surprised that going natural changed my mind set on so many things beyond my hair. A lot of “natural girls” transition to using all natural, organic, sulfate free, paraben free (and many more) products to get the healthiest hair possible. But why stop at healthy hair? I now craved healthy skin. I wanted a healthy body. All of these things tied together to create a whole new me, and I loved who I was becoming.  

Now, I can’t lie, the first few months of my natural hair journey were very difficult. I had NO idea what to do what that tiny little fro. I’ll also make a confession that I don’t particularly like to speak of. In my mind, before I did my big cop I had what I like to call “false hair expectations.” This simply means I wasn’t excepting of the texture of my hair. I thought I was going to have silky Spanish wave curls  and my hair was going to look so cute if I just wet it and threw a little gel in it. (Hey! I can dream can’t I? I mean I figured I’d have a little since I’m half, but that just does NOT cut it these days. Lol) Instead I had very thick, course hair that was far from manageable. I had to erase those hair expectations and learn to work with what I had, and learn to make it beautiful.  I encounter girls with these false expectations ALL of the time, and it is easy for me to relate to them, because I was once there. Accepting your hair texture, whether it be 3B, 3C, 4B, or 4C is the most important thing you can do.

Image

Image

 This way you can research products that work well with your specific hair type, You-Tube tutorials of girls with hair like yours, and even pictures of styles that look good on your hair type. Believe me, black hair comes in all shapes, sizes, colors, lengths, and thickness. Finding a hair care routine that works for your specific hair is ideal. It took me a while to get the hang of things, but by about 6 months in the game, I was beginning to feel like a pro. 🙂

Over my two years being natural, I have learned SO many things about my hair and how to take care of it. I’ve tried so many hairstyles. Some that didn’t turn out so great, and some that turned out beautiful. I’ve tried styles that my hair wasn’t long enough to do, then a few month later I would try them again, and they would work! One of the most exciting parts of my hair journey was my hair growth. I would start complaining and saying my hair wasn’t growing, and at one time I was certain my hair was getting shorter and shorter, then all of a sudden I’d have a great twist out that looked so much longer than a previous one, or I’d flat iron my hair and see great length compared to a previous flat iron session. Hair growth does take time, and I had to learn to be patient because my hair wasn’t going to be down my back over night. Setting realistic hair goals for myself was very important for me.

Image

In these past two years I’ve fussed, frowned, cried, cursed, taken scissors to knots and tangles out of rage, woken up with matted hair, spent more time looking like Chief Keef  & A$AP Rocky  than I’d care to admit, missed events because of hair disasters, and contemplated going back to to the creamy crack!

Image

But, I wouldn’t trade this journey for anything in the world. I tell everyone I talk about my hair with that this is one of the best decisions I have ever made in my LIFE. I am excited to say I have made it two years and I am excited to see what this hair journey has in store.

ImageImage

To all my natural sisters….stay bold, stay classy, stay patient, and most important, stay NATURAL. ❤

 

Love you all,

T. Rowe

3 responses »

Leave a comment